Objective

How can development processes be digitally integrated? What degree of digitization of product development is efficient? What are the potentials and possible applications for the digital twin in development? More than ever, these are central questions in the product development of manufacturing companies. An up-to-date and holistic understanding of digital consistency in product development is therefore of major importance for the success of strategic decisions. Especially in the age of increasing digitization of products and processes, promising potentials but also challenges arise.

Therefore, we, the Laboratory for Machine Tools and Production Engineering (WZL) of RWTH Aachen University and the Complexity Management Academy, in cooperation with an industry consortium, would like to identify successful and proven best practices for the end-to-end continuity of product development. Use the benchmarking study "Digital Product Development" to examine your own approach to end-to-end continuity of product development, to gain further impulses and find out about successful approaches based on the study results.

We look forward to your participation! Please use the button on the top of the page.


Timeline

The benchmarking study is designed for approximately 10 months and starts with a screening phase, which pursues the goal of a comprehensive industry data collection based on the questionnaire. With the help of our expert network from industry and science, the returns are analyzed during the evaluation and promising approaches are detailed in depth through case studies with the corresponding study participants. In this phase, all study participants receive an evaluation of the relative positioning of their own company compared to the most successful participants in the study. Finally, five Successful Practice companies are visited by the industry consortium and the respective other Successful Practice companies under the motto "learning from the best".



Scope

Shown below is the scope of the international benchmarking study. The areas serve to structure the topic and enable a target-oriented discussion within the project.



Industrial Consortium

    The VDMA is a partner of the benchmarking study.

    References

    "In the KBM "Agile Product Development", we were able to discuss our own status quo across industries and gain numerous insights into best practices via the study. This approach was of major benefit to us."

    (Head of Project and Process Management Vaillant Group)

     

    The Complexity Management Academy is conducting the consortium benchmarking study "Digital Product Development" together with the Laboratory for Machine Tools and Production Engineering (WZL) at RWTH Aachen University, thus continuing a series of successfully completed consortium benchmarking studies of this kind. Our industry customers appreciate our professional project management in addition to our well-founded technical and methodological expertise.

    Successful consortium benchmarking studies of the past years:



    Artificial intelligence in R&D (2018)

    The consortium benchmarking study examined how AI is used in companies R&D work and where it is already finding its way into new products. Over 200 companies provided responses on four central AI topics in R&D. In addition to identifying new service offerings through the application of AI in the product portfolio, possible applications for optimizing internal R&D processes are queried. Furthermore, the companies provided information on organizational and technological prerequisites for the successful integration of AI in R&D.

     

    Consortium partner

    The consortium consisted of 24 companies from various industries and company sizes with companies such as Covestro, Miele, ZF, Endress + Hauser, and many more.

     

    Successful practice companies

    ABB, Airbus, Dürr Systems, Wacker Chemie, 3M Germany

    Agile Product Development (2019)

    The thematic focus of the consortium benchmarking study "Agile Product Development" was to identify success factors for the agile development of physical products. Within the framework of this benchmarking study, systematic, generally applicable and targeted solution approaches for the application of agile methods in the product development of manufacturing companies were derived along the six central topics of the framework "Organization", "Methods" and "Tools", "Infrastructure", "Prototyping", "Process" and "Culture and Mindset".

    Consortium partners

    16 consortium partners, such as Bosch, Mahle, Swarovski, Schaeffler or Roche, from different industries and different company sizes formed the consortium.

    Successful practice companies

    Claas, ASML, Philips Healthcare, Trumpf, Continental

    Your contact persons

    Benjamin Lender, M.Sc.
    Project Lead
    Phone: +49 (0) 241 80-28205
    Mobil: +49 (0) 151 405 66681

    Email: benjamin.lender@complexity-academy.com



    Gereon Bönsch, M.Sc.RWTH
    Project Team Member
    Phone: +49 (0) 241 80-27593
    Mobil: +49 (0) 151 467 74073

    Email: gereon.boensch@complexity-academy.com



    Dr.-Ing. Maximilian Kuhn
    Chief Engineer - Department Innovation Management
    Phone: +49 (0) 241 80-28196
    Mobil: +49 (0) 151 431 64208

    Email: m.kuhn@wzl.rwth-aachen.de

     

     



    Downloadbereich

    This website is using cookies to provide a good browsing experience.

    These include essential cookies that are necessary for the operation of the site, as well as others that are used only for anonymous statistical purposes, for comfort settings or to display personalized content. You can decide for yourself which categories you want to allow. Please note that based on your settings, not all functions of the website may be available.

    This website is using cookies to provide a good browsing experience.

    These include essential cookies that are necessary for the operation of the site, as well as others that are used only for anonymous statistical purposes, for comfort settings or to display personalized content. You can decide for yourself which categories you want to allow. Please note that based on your settings, not all functions of the website may be available.

    Your cookie preferences have been saved.

Ziel

Wie können Entwicklungsprozesse digital durchgängig gestaltet werden? Welches Maß an Digitalisierung der Produktentwicklung ist effizient? Welche Potenziale und Anwendungsmöglichkeit bestehen für den Digitalen Zwilling in der Entwicklung? Mehr denn je sind dies zentrale Fragestellungen in der Produktentwicklung produzierender Unternehmen. Ein aktuelles und ganzheitliches Verständnis digitaler Durchgängigkeit in der Produktentwicklung ist daher von maßgeblicher Bedeutung für den Erfolg strategischer Entscheidungen. Besonders im Zeitalter zunehmender Vernetzung von Produkten und Prozessen entstehen vielversprechende Potenziale, aber auch Herausforderungen.

Daher möchten wir, das Werkzeugmaschinenlabor WZL der RWTH Aachen und die Complexity Management Academy, in Zusammenarbeit mit einem Industriekonsortium erfolgreiche und praxiserprobte Best-Practices für die durchgängige Vernetzung der Produktentwicklung identifizieren. Nutzen Sie die Benchmarking-Studie „Digital Product Development“ zur Prüfung Ihres eigenen Vorgehens bei der durchgängigen Vernetzung der Produktentwicklung, um weitere Impulse zu erhalten und informieren Sie sich anhand der Studienergebnisse über erfolgreiche Ansätze.

Über Ihre Teilnahme freuen wir uns sehr! Nutzen Sie hierzu gerne den Button im Titelbereich.


Projektplan

Die Konsortial-Benchmarking-Studie ist auf ca. 10 Monate ausgelegt und startet mit einer Screening Phase, welche das Ziel einer umfassenden Datenaufnahme im internationalen Umfeld auf Basis eines Fragebogens verfolgt. Mit Hilfe unseres Netzwerkes aus Expertinnen und Experten aus Industrie und Wissenschaft werden während der Auswertung die Rückläufer analysiert sowie erfolgversprechende Ansätze durch Fallstudien mit den entsprechenden Studienteilnehmende vertiefend beleuchtet. In dieser Phase erhalten alle Studienteilnehmende eine Auswertung der relativen Positionierung des eigenen Unternehmens im Vergleich zu den erfolgreichsten Teilnehmer*innen der Studie. Abschließend werden fünf Successful-Practice-Unternehmen von dem Industriekonsortium sowie den jeweils weiteren Successful-Practice-Unternehmen unter dem Motto „Lernen von den Besten“ besucht.



Themenschwerpunkte

Nachfolgend finden Sie die Themenfelder der Konsortial-Benchmarking-Studie. Die Themenfelder dienen dazu, die Thematik zu strukturieren und eine zielgerichtete Diskussion im Rahmen der Studie zu ermöglichen.



Industriekonsortium

    Der VDMA ist Partner der Benchmarking-Studie.

    Referenzen

    „Im KBM „Agile Product Development“ konnten wir unseren eigenen Status quo branchenübergreifend diskutieren und über die Studie zahlreiche Einblicke in Best Practices bekommen. Diese Vorgehensweise hatte für uns einen hohen Mehrwert.“

    (Leiter Projekt- und Prozessmanagement Vaillant Group)

     

    Die Complexity Management Academy führt die Konsortial-Benchmarking-Studie "Digital Product Development" gemeinsam mit dem Werkzeugmaschinenlabor WZL der RWTH Aachen durch und knüpft damit an eine Reihe bereits erfolgreich abgeschlossener Konsortial-Benchmarking-Studien dieser Art an. Unsere Kund*innen aus der Industrie wissen dabei neben fundierter Fach- und Methodenkenntnis vor allem die professionelle Projektabwicklung zu schätzen.

    Erfolgreiche Konsortial-Benchmarking-Studien der vergangenen Jahre:



    Künstliche Intelligenz in der F&E (2018)

    Die Konsortial-Benchmarking-Studie untersuchte, wie KI in der Forschungs- und Entwicklungsarbeit von Unternehmen genutzt wird und wo sie bereits Eingang in neue Produkte findet. Über 200 Unternehmen gaben Antworten zu vier zentralen Themenfeldern der KI in der F&E. Neben der Identifikation von neuen Leistungsangeboten durch die Applikation von KI im Produktportfolio wurden Anwendungsmöglichkeiten zur Optimierung der internen F&E-Prozesse abgefragt. Zudem gaben die Unternehmen Auskunft zu organisatorischen sowie technologischen Voraussetzungen einer erfolgreichen Integration KI in der F&E.

    Konsortialpartner

    Das Konsortium bestand aus 24 Unternehmen verschiedener Branchen und Unternehmensgröße mit Unternehmen, wie Covestro, Miele, ZF, Endress + Hauser,  u.v.m.

    Successful-Practice-Unternehmen

    ABB, Airbus, Dürr Systems, Wacker Chemie, 3M Deutschland

    Agile Product Development (2019)

    Thematischer Schwerpunkt der Konsortial-Benchmarking-Studie „Agile Product Development“ war es, Erfolgsfaktoren für die agile Entwicklung physischer Produkte zu identifizieren. Im Rahmen dieser Benchmarking-Studie wurden systematische, allgemeingültige und zielgerichtete Lösungsansätze für die Anwendung agiler Methoden in der Produktenwicklung produzierender Unternehmen entlang der sechs zentralen Themenfelder des Ordnungsrahmens "Organisation", "Methoden" und "Werkzeuge", "Infrastruktur", "Prototyping", "Prozess" sowie "Kultur und Mindset" abgeleitet.

    Konsortialpartner

    16 Konsortialpartner, wie Bosch, Mahle, Swarovski, Schaeffler oder Roche, aus verschiedenen Branchen und unterschiedlichen Unternehmensgrößen bildeten das Konsortium.

    Successful-Practice-Unternehmen

    Claas, ASML, Philips Healthcare, Trumpf, Continental

    Ihre Ansprechpartner

    Benjamin Lender, M.Sc.
    Projektleiter
    Telefon: +49 (0) 241 80-28205
    Mobil: +49 (0) 151 405 66681

    Email: benjamin.lender@complexity-academy.com



    Gereon Bönsch, M.Sc.RWTH
    Mitglied des Projektteams
    Telefon: +49 (0) 241 80-27593
    Mobil: +49 (0) 151 467 74073

    Email: gereon.boensch@complexity-academy.com



    Dr.-Ing. Maximilian Kuhn
    Werkzeugmaschinenlabor WZL der RWTH Aachen
    Oberingenieur - Abteilung Innovationsmanagement
    Telefon: +49 (0) 241 80-28196
    Mobil: +49 (0) 151 431 64208

    Email: m.kuhn@wzl.rwth-aachen.de



    Downloadbereich

    Diese Website nutzt Cookies, um bestmögliche Funktionalität bieten zu können.

    Dazu gehören wesentliche Cookies, die für den Betrieb der Website erforderlich sind, sowie andere, die nur für anonyme statistische Zwecke, für Komforteinstellungen oder zur Anzeige personalisierter Inhalte verwendet werden. Sie können selbst entscheiden, welche Kategorien Sie zulassen möchten. Bitte beachten Sie, dass aufgrund Ihrer Einstellungen möglicherweise nicht alle Funktionen der Website zur Verfügung stehen.

    Diese Website nutzt Cookies, um bestmögliche Funktionalität bieten zu können.

    Dazu gehören wesentliche Cookies, die für den Betrieb der Website erforderlich sind, sowie andere, die nur für anonyme statistische Zwecke, für Komforteinstellungen oder zur Anzeige personalisierter Inhalte verwendet werden. Sie können selbst entscheiden, welche Kategorien Sie zulassen möchten. Bitte beachten Sie, dass aufgrund Ihrer Einstellungen möglicherweise nicht alle Funktionen der Website zur Verfügung stehen.

    Ihre Auswahl wurde gesichert.